Walk through the city Astypalaia
Walk through the city. Pay a visit to:
- The Venetian castle of Querini family, dating from 13th century. A special interest present the style of small, three-storey houses and especially the ones which are outside the castle, the external walls of which create a second wall with small windows, serving as embrasures. Inside the castle there are two all-white churches, with stone ornate bell-towers: Panaghia Evaggelistra (1853), inside which is the owner inscription from 1413 along with Querinis’ coats of arms, and Aghios Georgios (1790).
- Panaghia Portaitissa church dating back to 18th century, beneath the castle. One of the most beautiful churches of Dodecanese, bearing woodcut, gilded icon screen. There is an interesting Ecclesiastical Museum next to the church.
- Narkisios Municipal Library, which also hosts the archaeological collection of the island.
- The Archaeological Museum at Pera Gyalos, hosting findings from the entire island, mainly dating from the prehistoric period, when Astypalaia was flourishing.
- The eight windmills located in Chora, above Skala. They belong to the category of xetrocharis [round] mill, the roof of which follows the direction of the wind.
- Kylindra, at the south frontier of Chora, where the only natal cemetery in the entire world was discovered. It used to be a sacred place during the Geometric era until the Hellenistic times.
- Megali Panaghia, with its remarkable, pebbled floor in the surroundings.
- Panaghia Flevariotissa, 6 km NW, away from Chora. A part of this church is built in a cave. It has an interesting woodcut temple.
- The convent of Aghios Ioannis Makrys (12 km W). The church is built in an imposing landscape, between two steep slides, viewing to the sea and offering a unique sunset.
- The castle of Ai-Giannis, across the convent bearing the same name.