In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.

Aegean Regatta 2018

Aegean Regatta, one of the most important sporting events in the country, will be once again welcoming prominent sailing teams from both Greece and abroad looking to compete at this classic offshore race taking place during the third week of August on the Aegean archipelago.

Aegean Regatta, which is now in its 29th edition, will take place on 18-25 August 2018 and is considered to be one of Greece’s signature sailing events gathering approximately 70 to 90 yachts and more than a 1.200 top sailors every year. Its origins go back to 2001, when Aegean Regatta was first held aiming to introduce sailing enthusiasts to lesser known Greek islands and destinations and help boost their local economies. A principle that the event organizers still follow to this day as each year’s race is held in different and relatively unknown Greek islands scattered across the Aegean Sea.

This year’s annual race sets sail on August 19th from the picturesque island of Skyros and navigates through the island of Chios before continuing on to the island of Samos where the race concludes on 25 August 25th. It is a 165 nautical miles sailing route featuring Skyros – a hidden gem of the Sporades compared to cosmopolitan Skiathos, Mama Mia! celebrated Skopelos and rugged Alonissos – as well as the gorgeous northeastern Aegean islands of Chios, home to the famous mastic villages, and Samos, birthplace of Hera – wife to Zeus – according to Greek mythology.

The Aegean Regatta 2018 racing programme is as follows:
Sunday 19/08 – offshore race from Skyros to Limnia (Volissos) Chios, 73nm
Tuesday 21/08 – offshore race from Limnia to Chios town, 40nm
Thursday 23/08 – offshore race from Chios to Vathi Samos, 52nm
Saturday 25/08 – inshore races based around Pythagorio in Samos

Aegean Regatta 2018 is organized by the Secretariat General for Island Policy and the Aegean in collaboration with the Hellenic Sailing Association (Open Sea Committee). Moreover, this year’s event is supported by the Region of North Aegean and the Municipalities of Skyros, Chios and Samos and coordinated by Chios Nautical Club.

For more information about the event and to register please see here and here

Photo © Aegean Regatta


Aegean Regatta 2018

18/08/2018 - 25/08/2018

Hours - Comments
Dates: 18-25 August 2018¦ Location: Skyros (Sporades), Chios and Samos islands (North Aegean)¦ Start and finish line: race starts at Skyros island and finishes at Samos island¦ Times: for the exact start times of each leg of the race please see the official Aegean Regatta website ¦More info:

explore Greece by region is the official tourism web site for Greece, run by the Greek National Tourism Organisation, where you'll find information on the main tourist destinations, such as cities, beaches, as well as activities, events and much more!

All content included on this site consists intellectual property of GNTO and you are not allowed to reproduce the whole or part of this work in any way. 
For information please contact: All Rights Reserved. GNTO © 2018.