In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.

Aegean Rally 2018

The 55th edition of Aegean Rally – one of the oldest and most popular sailing regattas in Greece – is gearing up to set sail again this summer attracting professional athletes and top sailors from across the world on 20-30 July 2018.

Considered one of the largest sailing races in Greece and one of the most challenging in Europe, Aegean Rally, which has been running since 1964, is a great sailing competition held annually across the Aegean archipelago during the third week of July. The offshore race, which brings together internationally renowned sailors and world champions from around the world, starts in Athens’s Faliro district and finishes back in Attica following a beautiful sailing route across the Cyclades and the Dodecanese islands in the Aegean Sea.

Aegean Rally 2018 kicks off on July 20th from the historic Battleship Averof – now a naval museum – at Faliro Bay in Athens’s southern coast and winds through the beautiful Greek islands of Paros, Leipsi and Amorgos before reaching the finish line at the spectacular Temple of Poseidon in Attica’s Sounio on July 30th, having sailed an approximately 350-nautical-mile-long route in an eleven day’s period.

This year’s event is divided into four different stages, namely Faliro to Amorgos on July 20th (132 nautical miles) Amorgos to Leipsi on July 24th (55 nautical miles), Leipsi to Paros on July 26th (84 nautical miles) and finally Paros to Sounio on July 28th (64 nautical miles), whereas Aegean Rally is also known for its parallel activities, which include a rich entertainment programme at every island along the sailing route.

Eligible boats at Aegean Rally are sailing boats with a wide range of length and sail classified as vessels designed especially for racing and seagoing vessels.

The 55th Aegean Rally is organized by the Hellenic Offshore Racing Club (HORC)

More info about Aegean Rally:
Aegean Rally is an international sailing regatta held annually in the Aegean Sea. It was first launched in 1964 and is therefore Greece’s oldest open-sea sailing competition. With the northern seasonal wind, called ‘meltemi’ blowing over the Aegean Sea at around 4 to 5 on the Beaufort Scale during July and August the Aegean archipelago provides the perfect backdrop for this challenge and invigorating event .

For more information about the event and to register please see here

Photo © Nikos Alevromytis; HORC, Aegean Rally


Aegean Rally 2018

20/07/2018 - 30/07/2018

Hours - Comments
Dates: 20-30 July 2018¦ Location: Athens (Faliro Bay), Amorgos (Katapola), Leipsi, Paros (Paroikia), Sounio¦ Start and finish line: race starts at Athens's Faliro Bay and finishes at Sounio outside Athens¦ Times: for the exact start times of each leg of the race please see the official Aegean Rally website ¦More info:

explore Greece by region is the official tourism web site for Greece, run by the Greek National Tourism Organisation, where you'll find information on the main tourist destinations, such as cities, beaches, as well as activities, events and much more!

All content included on this site consists intellectual property of GNTO and you are not allowed to reproduce the whole or part of this work in any way. 
For information please contact: All Rights Reserved. GNTO © 2018.